A Parisian Institution

A historical venue

Ever since their inauguration on May 5th, 1862, the Hotel de la Paix (which then became the InterContinental Paris le Grand Hotel) and the Café de la Paix are genuine institutions enjoying worldwide fame.

The Café de la Paix is a restaurant bar exuding Second Empire elegance and proudly displaying its listed frescoes and sumptuous gilding.

Spirited gastronomy is the hallmark of this outstanding venue, which also serves a selection of fast fare all day long in the indoor terrace. When fair weather returns, it unfolds its renowned summer terrace facing the flamboyant Opéra-Garnier.

There is also the Table d’Hôte in the heart of Paris, brunch on Sundays… The Café de la Paix has a great many aspects which we encourage you to explore.

The first 150 years…

In 1896, Eugène Pirou started holding screenings of the brand new cinematograph in the mezzanine. Admission cost 1 Franc, and showings ran from 8 pm to midnight.

In 1898, on a sultry summer afternoon, a regular customer by the name of Oscar Wilde witnessed a strange phenomenon: the street had just been watered down and a light mist was rising from the ground. Suddenly, within the fog forming across the square, he saw a golden angel appear, that kept growing and growing… This caused much excitement… Women fainted… Tables were knocked over… Was this a miracle? Not at all. It was the golden allegorical character perched atop the Opera that was actually reflecting the sunrays into the mist, and it was its image floating in the middle of the square!

In 1914, the Taxis of the Marne heading for the warfront paraded by the building. During the victory celebrations, Georges Clemenceau took up position on the first floor to admire the troops parading past the Opera.

In 1938, the Management at the Café de la Paix founded Pam Pam, a chain of restaurants inspired by an American model and putting forward fast service and affordable prices. A  Pam Pam was opened on the Champs-Elysées, another on the location of the Opera Bar. Riding on a successful trend, those initial Parisian attempts at fast food were highly profitable right into the seventies.

In 1939, and for the first time ever, the Café de la Paix was closed for business on the day war was declared.

On August 25th, 1944, during the fighting to liberate the city, a German grenade caused a fire to start, which was quickly put out by the headwaiters using their soda siphons.

In November 1948, the restaurant became the set for the filming of “This is Paris”, the first program to be broadcasted live from France to the United States, and featuring Yves Montand, Maurice Chevalier and Henri Salvador.

During the fifties, Marlene Dietrich attracted such huge crowds to jam the Café de la Paix that the waiters had to use a special itinerary to go from the kitchens and the counters to the dining rooms.

In 1976, TV journalist Leon Zitrone decided to celebrate his career jubilee at the Café. He sent splendid invitation cards to all of his friends and relations. But the MLF (Wacky French Movement), headed by humorist Pierre Dac and friends, decided to play a trick on him and had bogus invitations printed, which they sent to all the concierges in the 19th arrondissement, to circus companies and to accordionist associations. On the day of the party, that motley crew showed up with their invites!

In 1982, the Comédie Française Theatre celebrated the 300th year anniversary of its founding by Molière with a sumptuous dinner attended by the entire company, including Jean Piat, Sophie Desmarets, Jean le Poulain, Michel Duchaussoy, Annie Ducaux, Georges Descrières, as well as friends of the illustrious institution sush as Bernard Blier and José Artur.

In 1989, the Café celebrated the Bicentennial of the French Revolution, complete with an exhibition of revolutionary scenes in window displays made in cooperation with the Grévin Museum, and the presentation of the Centennial Marianne Bust to the press.

In the year 2000, the Café de la Paix was awarded the Grand Heritage Prize, organised by Paris Town Hall for all of the cafés, restaurants and cabarets in the capital city.

In 2003, the Café de la Paix was entirely renovated, under the supervision of the Bâtiments de France Authority. The former garden-style décor and its partitions were removed to provide less cluttered and brighter perspectives, restoring the venue’s original volumes and ambiance. 

Our venues

The Café de la Paix has been a Parisian institution for the past century and a half. Combining history, tradition and modernity, it serves its “contemporary classic” cuisine within an exceptional setting.

In addition to the restaurant menu, the Café de la Paix serves a selection of fast meals all day long in its indoor terrace, and when fair weather returns in its summer terrace facing the flamboyant Opéra-Garnier.

The Opera Café provides a stunning view over the Opéra Garnier. It is open daily to serve you breakfast, lunch and dinner, offering a basic and flavourful terrace special for a gourmet break to be taken as you visit Paris. Its ideal setting is also perfectly suited to private functions, meals seating 20 or cocktail parties serving 40.

The Opera Square is a large alcove located to the side of the main lounge, facing Place de l’Opéra, which serves private breakfasts, lunches or dinners, seating up to forty people. 

The Table d’Hôte can for its part serve a dozen guests for a set-menu lunch or dinner. It is an ideal solution for a business meal.

The Espace Verrière and the bar, a grand 800-m² winter garden is set in the center of the hotel. It is a majestic, peaceful haven, far from the hustle and bustle of the city. As evening falls, a warm, elegant ambience takes over.  Overlooking La Verrière restaurant, the bar offers you a hushed, intimate atmosphere gently beneath subdued lighting.  

Reserve your table

Your section

The Shop: A wide choice of items, ranging from key rings to luxury cup caskets, not to mention the renowned black aprons with the golden buttons!  

PHOTO GALLERY

Une Institution Parisienne, Café Paris

Un lieu historique : Le Café de la Paix

Depuis leurs inaugurations le 5 mai 1862, l’hôtel de la Paix, devenu ensuite l’InterContinental Paris le Grand, et le Café de la Paix sont de véritables institutions, célèbres dans le monde entier.

Bar restaurant à l’élégance Second Empire, le Café de la Paix arbore avec fierté ses fresques classées et ses somptueuses dorures.

Table d’exception à la gastronomie alerte, cet établissement propose également toute la journée, en terrasse intérieure, une sélection de plats rapides. Aux beaux jours, il déroule sa fameuse terrasse d’été face au flamboyant Opéra-Garnier.

Table d’hôtes au cœur de Paris, brunch tous les dimanches… Le Café de la Paix a de multiples visages que nous vous invitons à venir découvrir.

Les 150 premières années…

En 1896,  Eugène Pirou organise à l’entresol des projections du tout nouveau cinématographe. L’entrée coûtait 1 franc, et les séances duraient de 20h00 à minuit.

En 1898, par un chaud après-midi d’été, Oscar Wilde, un habitué de la terrasse du Café de la Paix, est témoin d’un étrange phénomène ; la chaussée a été arrosée et une buée légère s’élève du sol. Soudain, il voit apparaître dans cette vapeur, au beau milieu de la place, un ange d’or qui grandit, grandit… Une certaine émotion s’ensuit… Des femmes s’évanouissent … Des tables sont même renversées… Un miracle ? Non ! C’est le personnage allégorique et doré juché au sommet de l’Opéra qui renvoie en fait les rayons du soleil vers l’écran de buée, et c’est son image qui flotte au milieu de la place !

En 1914, les taxis de la Marne, en route pour le front, défilent devant l’établissement. Lors des célébrations de la victoire, Georges Clemenceau s’installe à l’étage pour admirer le défilé des troupes devant l’Opéra.

En 1938, la direction du Café de la Paix créée la chaîne des Pam Pam, restaurants inspirés de modèles américains et caractérisés par la rapidité du service et la modicité des prix. Un Pam Pam s’ouvre sur les Champs-Elysées, et un autre à l’emplacement du Bar Opéra. Bénéficiant d’un phénomène de mode, ces premiers essais parisiens de restauration rapide sont extrêmement rentables jusqu’aux années soixante-dix.

En 1939, pour la première fois de son histoire, le Café de la Paix ferme ses portes le jour de la déclaration de guerre.

Le 25 août 1944, lors des combats de la Libération, une grenade allemande provoque un début d’incendie, vite éteint par les maîtres d’hôtel armés de leur siphon.

En novembre 1948, le restaurant prête son cadre au tournage de « This is Paris », première émission télévisée transmise en direct de France aux Etats-Unis, avec Yves Montand, Maurice Chevalier et Henri Salvador.

Pendant les années cinquante, Marlene Dietrich créée au Café de la Paix de tels embouteillages que les serveurs sont obligés d’emprunter un itinéraire spécial entre les cuisines, les comptoirs et les salles.

En 1976, le journaliste télé Léon Zitrone décide d’y fêter son jubilé professionnel. Il adresse à tous ses amis et relations de magnifiques cartons d’invitation. Le M.L.F. (Mouvement Loufoque Français) animé par l’humoriste Pierre Dac et ses amis décident de lui jouer un tour en faisant imprimer de fausses invitations, qu’ils adressent à toutes les concierges du XIXème arrondissement, à des troupes de cirque et à des sociétés d’accordéonistes. Le jour de la fête, tout ce petit monde se présente avec son carton !

En 1982, la Comédie Française fête au Café de la Paix le 300ème anniversaire de sa création par Molière, lors d’un somptueux dîner auquel participe toute la troupe, dont Jean Piat, Sophie Desmarets, Jean le Poulain, Michel Duchaussoy, Annie Ducaux, Georges Descrières, et des amis de l’illustre compagnie, tels Bernard Blier et José Artur.

En 1989, on y célèbre le Bicentenaire de la Révolution française, avec une exposition de scènes de la Révolution aménagées dans les vitrines en coopération avec le musée Grévin, et la présentation à la presse du buste de la Marianne du Centenaire,

En l’an 2000, le Café de la Paix reçoit le premier prix du Patrimoine organisé par la Mairie de Paris pour l’ensemble des cafés, restaurants et cabarets de la capitale.

En 2003, le Café de la Paix est intégralement rénové, sous la supervision des Bâtiments de France. L’ancien décor de jardin et ses cloisonnements disparaissent pour faire place à des perspectives plus aérées et claires qui lui restituent son ambiance et ses volumes d’origine.

Nos lieux

Le Café de la Paix est une institution parisienne depuis un siècle et demi. Alliant histoire, tradition et modernité, une cuisine « classique contemporaine » s’offre à vous dans un écrin d’exception.

Parallèlement à la carte du restaurant, le Café de la Paix propose toute la journée, sur sa terrasse intérieure, une sélection de plats rapides  et aux beaux jours, sa terrasse d’été face au flamboyant Opéra-Garnier.

Le Café Opéra offre une vue imprenable sur l''Opéra Garnier. Il vous accueille tous les jours pour vos petits-déjeuners, déjeuners et dîners, proposant une formule terrasse simple et savoureuse pour des pauses gourmandes lors de vos visites parisiennes. Son cadre idéal vous permet également de réaliser des évènements privatifs, des repas de 20 personnes ou des cocktails de 40 personnes.

Le Carré Opéra, grande alcôve située en marge de la salle principale, face à la place de l’Opéra, accueille petits-déjeuners, déjeuners ou dîners privés jusqu’à une quarantaine de personnes.

La Table d’hôtes peut réunir quant à elle une douzaine de convives à déjeuner ou à dîner. Elle est idéale pour des repas d’affaires.

Espace Verrière et le bar,grandiose jardin d’hiver de 800 m² dressé au centre de l’hôtel. Un majestueux havre de paix à l’abri de l’effervescence. Le soir venu, une ambiance chaleureuse et élégante gagne doucement les lieux. Ouvert sur la Verrière, le bar  vous offre une atmosphère intime et feutrée sous des lumières tamisées.

Réservez votre table

Votre espace

La Boutique : Un vaste choix depuis les porte-clefs aux luxueux coffrets de tasses, sans oublier les fameux tabliers noirs aux boutons dorés !

GALERIE PHOTO